EUROPEAN RIVER CRUISE BUDAPEST TO AMSTERDAM - 2018

Introduction and Itinerary

Introduction and Itinerary   Preliminaries   Sunday Aug 5 - Vienna to Budapest   Monday Aug 6 - Budapest   Tuesday Aug 7 - Brataslava   Wednesday Aug 8 - Vienna   Thursday Aug 9 - Dürnstein & Melk   Friday Aug 10 - Passau   Saturday Aug 11 - Regensburg   Sunday Aug 12 - Roth and Nürnberg   Monday Aug 13 - Bamberg   Tuesday Aug 14 - Würzburg   Wednesday Aug 15 - Miltenberg   Thursday Aug 16 - Rüdesheim   Friday Aug 17 - Köln   Saturday Aug 18 - Amsterdam   Summary      Return to Main Page

Every time I had biked along the Danube, Rhine, and Main and in Amsterdam and saw those huge, fancy European river cruise ships, I said to myself that one day I would do it. Well, when it appeared that I would still mobile the summer of 2018, I did it. Because I wanted the "full meal deal" but still stay mainly in German speaking lands, I selected Budapest to Amsterdam, a 2 week journey. After a lot of research, I chose Avalon Cruises whose best price was westbound departing Budapest August 5. Avalon's reviews were good, and it offered the use of bicycles at every port.

Because by the time an overseas flight reaches England, I'm ready to get off, I decided to fly to Amsterdam, spend the night, and take an overnight train to Vienna, spend two nights there, and take the train to Budapest in order to board our ship, the Avalon Luminary.

After arrival back in Amsterdam, as is our custom, we would spend the night in a hotel there, fly back to Chicago, spend a night near the airport before taking the train back home the next day.

Janelle and Marcia, the usual suspect, joined us and made the trip extra special.

As it tuned out a lot did not go as planned.
PLAN

Mon 07/30/18 Drive to Ft Madison, SW Chief to Chi, Candlewood Suites
Tue 07/31/18 KLM Chi to Amsterdam
Wed 08/01/18 Ramada Inn Amsterdam
Thur 08/02/18 Overnight train to Vienna
Fri 08/03/18 Marriot Renaissance Hotel
Sat 08/04/18 Marriot Rennaisance Hotel
Sun 08/05/18 High mass at St. Stephens cathedral, Train to Budapest, board Avalon Luminary
Mon 08/06/18 Sail to Amsterdam
...

Sat 08/18/18 Arrive Amsterdam
Sun 08/19/18 Bastion Hotel - Schipol Airport
Tue 08/20/18 Fly to Chi, Candlewood Suites
Wed 08/21/18 Illinois Zephyr home

CHANGES

Mon 07/30/18 SW Chief extremely late, switched to Illinois Zephyr to Chi, Candlewood Suites
Tue 07/31/18 Flight canceled, back to Candlewood Suites
Wed 08/01/18 KLM Chi to Amsterdam
Thur 08/02/18 4 hrs sleep Ramada Inn, Amsterdam, reserved seats on ICE to Duesseldorf unavailable due to no AC, rode in 1st class
Fri 08/03/18 Unable to get bike rental stations to read my credit card
Sat 08/04/18 Still unable to get bike rental stations to read my credit card, no high mass at St. Stephens
Sun 08/05/18 Sofitel Hotel due to low water on Danube
Mon 08/06/18 Bus to Komoro, Slovakia; sail on Luminary
...

Sat 08/11/18 Bus from Vilshofen to Regensburg; sail on Impression
...
Thu 08/17/18 Tourist boat Ruedesheim to St.Goar, bus to Koblemz, sail on Visionary
First    Previous    Next    Last